Updated crew change guidelines

25 Jan 2021 / Philippines

A. Ships coming from or having rendered port of call/s from the below listed countries within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines, are temporarily restricted from disembarking their foreign seafarers until 31 January 2021:

  1. Australia
  2. Austria
  3. Brazil
  4. Canada
  5. The People’s Republic of China, including Hong Kong, Special Administrative Region
  6. Denmark
  7. Finland
  8. France
  9. Germany
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. India
  13. Ireland
  14. Israel
  15. Italy
  16. Jamaica
  17. Japan
  18. Jordan
  19. Lebanon
  20. Luxembourg
  21. Netherlands
  22. Norway
  23. Oman
  24. Pakistan
  25. Portugal
  26. Singapore
  27. South Africa
  28. South Korea
  29. Spain
  30. Sweden
  31. Switzerland
  32. United Arab Emirates
  33. United Kingdom
  34. United States

Additional countries can be included in the above list as may be directed by the Office of the President.

B. Filipino and foreign seafarers aboard ship with no recorded port of calls in any of the countries listed in Item A within the last 14 days preceding arrival in the Philippines shall be allowed to disembark in any of the crew change hubs established by this Department, subject to existing health and safety protocols of the established One-Shop Shops (OSS) for Seafarers.

C. Filipino seafarers coming from countries mentioned in Item A, or who have been to the same within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines, shall be tested upon arrival and shall be quarantined until the result of a subsequent test administered on the fifth day is released. After which, said seafarers who yield a negative result from both COVID-19 tests shall be endorsed to their local government units of destination who shall then strictly monitor the remainder of the fourteen-day quarantine through their respective Barangay Health Emergency Response Teams.

D. Filipino seafarers that fall under the classification of Item C are only allowed to disembark in Port of Manila and shall be transported by their shipping agents to the OWWA-designated quarantine facility via P2P, under strict monitoring of the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG).

E. All incoming seafarers from any country, if found positive, shall undergo whole genome sequencing conducted by the Department of Health (DOH), University of the Philippines (UP) Philippine Genome Center, and UP-National Institutes of Health, in addition to the prescribed testing and quarantine protocols.

F. Embarkation to ships bound to the countries mentioned in Item A shall be subject to the existing exit protocols of the Philippines as well as entry protocols of the respective countries…

(For further details and updates, as well as information about operations in the Philippines, contact GAC Philippines at [email protected])

Source: Extracts from Philippines Department of Transportation memorandum dated 23 January 2021

If quoting any content from Hot Port News, please cite GAC Hot Port News as the source.