BACK TOHot Port News

Revision of island-wide curfew extension

  • calendar

    26 March 2020

  • location

    Sri Lanka



The lifting of the currently enforced curfew and re-enforcement will be carried out as follows:

  • Three districts - the capital Colombo, Gampaha and Kalutara districts – have been declared high risk areas and the curfew imposed will continue until further notice.

  • The curfew currently in force in the Northern areas (Puttalam, Vavuniya, Mannar, Kilinochchi, Mullaitivu and Jaffna districts) will be lifted at 0600 hours tomorrow (Friday 27 March) and re-imposed at 1200 hours on the same day.

  • The curfew in the rest of the country (areas including Ports of Galle, Hambantota and Trincomalee) were in force until 0600 today (26 March), and re-imposed at 1200 hours.

During the hours of curfew, movement from one district to another has been completely banned, including taking foreign tourists from place one place to another. Airport and port service personnel are allowed to travel.

The period from 30 March to 3 April has been declared as a “work from home” period, for all government, semi-government and private sector employees in Sri Lanka, excluding essential services.

All international airports in Sri Lanka will continue to be closed to inbound international commercial passenger flights until 2359 hours local time on 31 March 2020.

During the closure period the following will be permitted:

  • Aircraft Departures with passengers originating from Colombo, stopovers, transit passengers or visiting tourists.
  • Emergency Diversions to BIA
  • Freighter Operations and humanitarian flights to BIA
  • Technical landings at BIA
  • Inbound ferry flights (without passengers) at BIA

For information about operations in Sri Lanka, contact GAC Sri Lanka at srilanka@gac.com