Special Entry Permit

04 Aug 2020 / Cyprus

Passengers travelling to the Republic of Cyprus from countries not included in Categories A or B must beforehand obtain a special permit as defined by the Infectious Diseases (Determination of Measures to Prevent the Spread of the COVID-19 Coronavirus) Decree (No. 30) of 2020, as amended for the time being.

The following categories are exempt:

  1. Cypriot citizens permanently residing in the Republic of Cyprus and members of their families (their alien spouses, under-age children and parents).
  2. Persons legally residing in the Republic.
  3. Persons entitled to enter the Republic under the Vienna Convention.

From today (4 August), applications for the granting of a Special Entry Permit must be submitted online through the platform at https://cyprusflightpass.gov.cy/en/special-permission-request

Obtaining a Special Entry Permit to the Republic of Cyprus applies only to persons from countries not included in the Categories A and B.

Countries in Categories A are: Austria, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland.

Countries in Categories B are: Andorra, Australia, Belgium, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Holy See (Vatican City State), Italy – not offering Covid-19 test, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Rwanda, San Marino, Spain, Thailand, Tunisia, United Kingdom and Uruguay.

Special Entry Permit shall be granted only in the following cases:

  1. First degree relatives of persons who reside legally in the Republic and/or are economically active in the Republic (spouse, children, parents) for family reunion purposes.
  2. Persons, regardless of nationality, whose arrival in the Republic is necessary for the purpose of implementing public projects or for honouring other important professional commitments.
  3. Changes of aircraft crews in the case where they are travelling as passengers for replacement purposes.
  4. Seafarers.

Requests for the granting of a special permit may be submitted through the e-platform Monday-Friday between 7:30 - 15:00, within 14 days prior to the expected travel date and the approval granted shall be valid for a month since the date of issue.

Upon the granting of the special permit a unique number will be sent exclusively connected to the passenger’s identity card number or passport number.

The passenger would then be able to use the said number in filling out his/her application for acquiring a CyprusFlightPass, by writing it down in the required space as special permit number.

For requests for aircraft crew changes and seamen these shall be submitted to and become accepted ONLY by ground handling service providers and agents and must contain, amongst other, the following additional details:

  • Name of Ground Handling Service Providers and Airline Company Name or Aircraft Registration Number in the case of a private flight by which the crew members are employed.
  • Ship’s name and Agent’s Details: (Name, Surname, Agent’s company, contact number).

The same procedures continue to apply for persons travelling from Category A or B countries as are applied to those arriving from Category A and B countries.

For further details and updates, as well as information about operations in Cyprus, contact GAC Cyprus at [email protected]

If quoting any content from Hot Port News, please cite GAC Hot Port News as the source.