Closure of borders

20 Mar 2020 / Brazil

The Brazilian Government has announced the closure of its borders to Europeans for a month starting on Monday 23 March. This applies to the entire European Economic Area, which includes the EU and the UK, Norway, Switzerland, and Iceland, but also people from China, Japan, South Korea and Malaysia who are non-resident in Brazil and who do not have urgent reasons to enter the country.

Yesterday, the Government announced the closure of its external border for 15 days starting from 19 March. This affects transit between Brazil and the following South American countries:
French Guyana

Earlier this week Brazil also imposed a border closure with Venezuela.

For further details and updates, as well as information about operations in Brazil, contact GAC Brazil at [email protected]

If quoting any content from Hot Port News, please cite GAC Hot Port News as the source.