Border measures extended

06 Mar 2020 / Australia

Yesterday (5 March), the Australian Government announced that the current enhanced border measures for mainland China and Iran will be extended. Changes have also been implemented to travel arrangements for people who have recently been in the Republic of Korea.

Effective 5 March at 2100 AEDST, foreign nationals who are in the Republic of Korea on or after 2100 AEDST 5 March, will not be allowed to enter Australia for 14 days, from the time they have left or transited through the Republic of Korea.

The quarantine period remains at 14 days the extension is for the period the restrictions will be enforced. Previously it was 1 February to 6 March. It has now been extended further.

The government continues a raised advice level for six countries: China, Iran, Italy and South Korea – ‘do not travel’; Japan, and Mongolia – ‘exercise a high degree of caution’.

Maritime Safety Queensland and the Port Authority of New South Wales have also increased their restrictions to include South Korea and Italy.

For further details and updates, as well as information about operations in Australia, contact GAC Australia at [email protected]

If quoting any content from Hot Port News, please cite GAC Hot Port News as the source.